2012 A Year In Review

2012 has been a very busy year for me. As I always do, I enjoyed being out in the field photographing landscapes, smelling the air and taking in the vistas. Being able to photograph Longbeach on Vancouver Island was a terrific experience. I would love to go back there again. As well, our yearly trips to the Canadian Rockies have left their mark on me, and I just can’t even begin to explain what those visits can do to revitalize ones soul. This fall, I got to meet and photograph with Gary Gulash, an accomplished wildlife photographer from Hinton Alberta. Although the time we spent photographing together was very short, it was memorable.

My workshops were a huge success this past year. I got to meet many new people and make lasting friendships with other seasoned photographers and many new to the hobby. But most of all, I feel very satisfied that I was able to help some people to get more out of photography, and enjoy everything it has to offer. I would really like to thank Ruth and Howard Mills of Minette Bay Lodge in Kitimat for hosting one of my workshops at their outstanding facility.

I continued my ongoing education as well, concentrating on studio studies and the art of portraiture. I take education very seriously, and always look forward to learning new things and sharing moments with others with the same interests. I just missed an old friend by a few days this past summer who is an avid wildlife photographer. I can hardly wait to meet up with him and set off on a wilderness photography adventure like we used to do many years ago.

This past year I really enjoyed photographing people which included fashion shoots, grad photos, personal portraits, family portraits, maternity, and newborn. I must say that everyone I had the privilege to photograph made the sessions a lot of fun. I thank you all for allowing me to capture a few moments that hopefully you will cherish for a lifetime. If somebody would have asked me 5 years ago if I’d ever be photographing newborns, I would have seriously doubted it, however, I have found it to be a great challenge, and my wife Paula really enjoys it as well. So who knows what the future holds. But, as long as it is rewarding, I look forward to it.

I have compiled a very short video clip with just a few of 2012’s images. (I tried to keep it very short as no one likes to watch long videos. So, the photos go by very quickly.)

http://video214.com/play/NBq9VbBKRjSXAe8nnacRtw/s/dark

Happy Shooting, & thank-you for your support,

Doug

6 thoughts on “2012 A Year In Review

  1. Doug I would like to thank you and Paula for sharing some of the most beautiful photography I have ever had the priviledge to see. It has always made me feel so very fortunate that you share them with your online friends. I truly wish you and Paula all the best in 2013 .

  2. Great stuff Doug. How do you find the time to compile all of this AND get out there to do the shooting? Looking forward to your 2013 shots.

    • Andrew thank-you so much. Although my blog posts have been a bit sporadic I do appreciate you checking in. And yes, time is always in short supply, but I suppose I’m a bit of a workaholic. All the best in 2013!

  3. Wonderful images, Doug! I’m not normally a big fan of portraiture, but yours are amazing…and to my surprise, evoked as big, or perhaps even a bigger, response in me than the landscapes and wildlife images (which I love). Wishing you all the best of the holiday season and looking forward to your 2013 images.

    • Best wishes to you and your family as well Laurie! I’m so glad the people pictures made a mark. Photography is such a diverse pastime, and portraits are another set of challenges which I enjoy.
      Thank-you again,
      Doug

Leave a Reply

