Photo Organizing – What Works for You?

One of my colleagues asked me recently about how I store, organize, and archive my photos. The system I use works very well for me. Since no two photographers have the same workflow, it’s important to think about and design a system that is tailored to your own particular workflow.

I’m not one of those photographers who takes thousands upon thousands of photographs every year. I do have a rather demanding full-time career other than photography that occupies much of my time, but I probably do take more photographs than the average person does.

When coming up with this system, I had several main objectives. I needed something that would allow me the freedom to move between my laptop and my home computer. I needed an effective way to organize and retrieve photos. And, I required a system that would allow me to safely archive and backup all my images.

Apple’s “Aperture” is the program I use to organize my images. I use yearmonthday_projectname_camera format to create my projects. For example, I may have a project called 20100930_BishCreek_5dmii. Aperture is installed on both my home computer and my laptop, and allows me the freedom to import and export libraries/projects between the two for editing.

As far as hardware goes, I have two 500 Gb mini-G drives (made by G-technology) daisy-chained via firewire 800 on my laptop. I use one to store my current year’s library, and the other is for the vault or backup of that library. I also use a 1 Tb G-drive on my laptop for a time machine backup of my entire system. The mini G-drives are great as they are very portable and fit into my travel case I’ve dubbed “road warrior”. I have a SanDisk multi-card reader for uploading images from my camera to the computers.

My home computer has a “G-Safe” attached via firewire 800. The G-Safe is two 2 Tb drives operating in Raid 0 (mirror image). These drives contain all my Aperture libraries and are hot swappable. I can remove one and store it off-site for extra security. I also have an external 1 Tb G-drive that I use for a time machine backup of the home computer.

That’s about it. It’s a system that works for me without being overly complicated. It’s reliable, and the firewire 800 drives allow fast data transfer rates which are especially important when dealing with RAW files.

Leave a Reply

